ED SHEERAN – DIVIDE (1-TIME LISTEN REVIEW)

Let me explain. This is the first time I’m doing a review on a non African act. Its because he paid homage to the motherland and also I lost a bet.

Ed Sheeran is one eclectic vocal god. From releases of his EP’s to his debut ablum “+ ” to his recent masterpiece “÷“, he has crafted the best of new sounds to fit into every environment he is placed in. He broke into the American market with ease and he paved the way for experimental folk music from the UK. The reason why I loved Divide apart from the Ghanaian influenced song, was the fact that he has never repeated the same trend, theme and style. He so the epitome of change. So its a big honour to do this review on such a wonderful album.

So let’s begin my first listen review. As usual the rules apply; no pausing, forwarding or reversing. I write my feelings here. Leggo

1. ERASER: 

Okay I love the guitar play. Very smooth. Ooooh Ed is rapping. Reminds me of ” Take it Back”. He places his emotions in the right places and that’s one thing I respect. Love the switch to chorus.

Verse 2 is better than one. Very hard to listen and vibe to good music at the same time; OH HE MADE A REV RUN REFERENCE. Awesome. I think the main hightlight of the song has to be the chorus. “And I’ll find comfort in my pain, eraser”. The production, song writing skills and mixing is impeccable. Good job done Ed..

2. CASTLE ON THE HILL:

A quick switch from smooth to up tempo. Ed Sheeran isn’t joking here😂. This song sounds like a pretty modern Irish folk music mixed with Dance flavor. I love this. I need to see the credits for this album. This song isn’t top favorite but its nice. Sounds predictable to me. But the chorus and production is fire. He makes love songs sound like workout music. Wow! His vocal skill is something else. 

Okay I take it back; the song is actually awesome. Massive love for this one. Too bad I can’t repeat..

3. DIVE:

His voice!!!!!! I’m telling you this; I love the verses than the chorus. Dont know about you but the chorus sounds like ” Thinking Out Loud (the end)”. Oh the electric guitar is absolutely warming.

Not my favorite but the guitar and is vocals is perfect. Maybe it would grow on me. 

4. SHAPE OF YOU:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JGwWNGJdvx8

When this song came up, I knew the album would be sultry and a perfect work. I love the smooth dancehall feel to this. Sounds like something I’d love to dance to with my girlfriend. Perfect songwriting, minimal production and delivery. 4 songs and I’m already loving this.

The best decision he made was use this as a promotional single. Too viral. Got me bumping my head.

5. PERFECT: 

Lemmie be the first to say this; the song fits the title. Imagine this, walking for long, sweating and tired. Then you eventually get home, sit on the couch and drink a glass of cold water. That’s what I’m feeling here. This is the true definition of soothing. Everything from the production to the finishing touches are just perfect.

This is the highlight of the song. AND I APPROVE OF THIS MESSAGE

6. GALWAY GIRL:

Ed Sheeran loves unexpected switches. But to be honest, his switches is something extraterrestrial. This song is very poppy. He effortlessly mixes rap with singing when it comes to love songs. The type of song you would play for your crush.

The end is just sweet. His guitar playing stands out of the wonderful noise being made. #Perfect

7. HAPPIER 

Ballads….. No not my thing. This is a heartbreak song. The thing is, I actually relate to this. More like a stalker her😂😂. Okay the beat gets a tempo to it. Now I’m loving this. 

I don’t think I’m the only one who relates to this. When you don’t treat your partner well and he/ she leaves; and then is happier than they were when they were with you. That jealousy and regret. HE PLACED IT IN A SONG!! I guess that’s a U.K thing (Adele, Sam Smith, James Blunt).
8. NEW MAN: 

Another predictable switch😂😂. Oh this one should be a motivational song. I get it; its a continuation of “Happier”. Another relatable song. To some of us that ain’t perfect, THIS IS OUR ANTHEM. When they leave you for a ” perfect” person, channel the energy to something better.

And stop stalking. Almost getting to 10 songs and its, WHOA HE ENDED IT WITH A DJ SCRATCH. *mind-blown*

9. HEARTS DON’T BREAK AROUND HERE:

Every Ed Sheeran fan knows one thing, his songs come from a special place. Few songwriters and more focus on him. This is an empowerment song. Like Justin Beiber’s Life Is Worth Living with more connection.

Moral here: find the one who makes you whole, make them whole too. Make sure the love gets strong till you feel there won’t be any heartbreak. Good song

10. WHAT DO I KNOW: 

Nice guitar flow. “Don’t get involved in politics”. Its safe to call this album a universally acceptable album. This is a song for love for the world and music.

Ed Sheeran utilizes the space to write creative music. I predict this song to be some NGO tune. United Nations, abi you dey hear? Use the song. Its perfect. Love can change the world in a moment.

11. HOW WOULD YOU FEEL (PAEAN): 

The arrangement of this album is super impeccable. This song about testing the waters with someone you love. Voicin feelings is hard oh. A big bet a few take with ease. Telling someone you love the person all in hopes of getting an ” i love you too” is the most difficult task in the world.

Who handles the electric guitar on this album? The person is the hero here. Wonderful song, perfect production, song writing and you can hear the instrumentations harmonizing. Something else

12. SUPERMARKET FLOWERS 

Ed Sheeran has a knack for choosing song titles. From ‘Lego House’ to Tenerife Sea’. Nice piano intro there. Love the emotion placed in this music. One can feel that; quite relatable. Nice song but no contrast to the title,classic Ed. 

This is one classic song for a wedding pass (here comes the bride is old). This is the kind of song for where you have a crush on someone and you sit in the troski window, imagining your life with that special crush. Halleluyah to that one.

13. BARCELONA 

*breath intensifies* Awesome tune. Has a Spanish feel, hence the title. This album defines variety but consistency. Hands down this is my favorite tune. I wish he does a video for this one.

Ooooooh I love the trumpet play. His voice is very commanding. And he speaks Spanish. BEST SONG EVER OF THE ALBUM!!!!!

14. BEBIA BE YE YIE 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eQlveAt9e88

This is the song I have been waiting for. Love the African sounds. This isn’t the normal Afro pop. True African beats. This is a song for every hustler out there. If you struggle with work, love,family, finance or anything, this is your song. This will shine a strong light in your life. Trust. “Wu nuoma be Ye yie” meaning “things will get well for you”
Love this one trust me. This song give a strong insight of lyricism.

15. NANCY MULLIGAN

Irish folk music is like a strong genre on this album. Let me help you with the story behind this song. Ed’s grandfather William fell in love with Nancy but because of their religious differences (Catholic and Protestant) they had to elope. Now listen to this song again.

People need inspirations for daily lives but Nancy Mulligan serves us with the biggest inspiration; love holds no barrier. NB: THIS SONG IS A STORY FROM WILLIAM SHEERAN. Perfect!!!!

16. SAVE MYSELF

Last song already:'(:'(:'(:'(:'(. One this about an Ed album is the experience and lost of time one realizes.

This is all about sacrifice to love; another thing that’s also relatable. Another piano-filled music, quite describing the melancholy of the song. This song is for all those who have given their all for a relationship that didn’t work. Someone knows how it feels and has made a soft but strong tune about it. Wonderful song.
Whew!!!!! Not easy but we done. This might probably be my second favorite Ed Sheeran album. + will always be my favorite. Divide is a trip down someone else’s memory lane. I loved the songs and I felt the emotions cos I could relate to most of the songs.

Thanks for reading this long one. Let’s support greatness. Happy belated birthday to all Ghanaians.

Sincerely yours,

Akwesi the writer…..

PS. Share, comment,like and support us. Thank you.

Leave a comment