AN OPEN LETTER TO THE HERO WHO BROKE MY HEART.

Time check is 12:18 and Nkawkaw looks foggy and super cold. I’m freezing and also watching Vine videos while chewing atajwi. Worst combination but I just don’t care. I had to lie to take a day off. Mr. Asamoah won’t allow it but I just don’t care. I’m locked into my carefree zone and nothing can mess this up for me.

Well not everything because all on having is flashbacks of a moment that could have changed my perception on Ghanaian music forever but it just messed up BIG TIME. obviously y’all don’t know what I’m typing about. I woke up with one thing on my mind; HOW SARKODIE BROKE MY HEART 💔. How? Lemmie type to you.

It was 10th July 2013. I’m on the phone with my uncle talking about morning breaths (weird huh?). Yohane came over and was rambling about this YouTube video of Sarkodie entitled “Original”. I had to cut uncle off, get on the laptop and we searched for this video this asshole won’t stop bugging me about. We started watching and then it hit me, “this might be a turning point for Sark”. It was not an official video. It was an official montage. The beats, the hand movements that would change the Sark fan base, the flow…… Charley Sark was the definition of Cloud 9. But something caught my eye at the end of the video.

WTF!!!!!! JHEEEZORS. An official Sarkodie mixtape hosted by DJ Mensah coming soon. *mindblown* In fact I knew this was the moment Sark will define his career; being the official bridge between underground and mainstream acts. 

Lemmie tell you something every Sark fan knows. A freestyle entitled ” gyimifuo” placed Sarkodie on the map of Ghanaian Hiphop. In highschool, we would gather round in the night just to listen to KASAHARE and we will bet on who will carry the ultimate crown on being the best rapper. Kasahare has groomed a lot of Accra based rappers but Sarkodie stood tall. His freestyles were just strong, deep and witty at the same time. THE SAME DAMN TIME OH!! Making a mixtape means you wanna go unorthodox, back to the time when lyrics only mattered, the time when being the best came from what you say, not what you own. And Sarkodie was going back to that time.

I waited

Waited

Waited

Waited 

Till I got tired. My dreams shattered, my soul crushed, my palms got heavy. I lost my mind when I had to come to accept the fact that the hopes of getting pure, quality, hiphop music from Sark is gone. I stopped listening to Sark. Ironically I bought the Sarkology album and shelved it. I hated the fact that I have lost it. The Original Mixtape was just a mind game strategy gone wrong. The feeling I feel today is exactly what I went through when I lost it. I stopped caring. I just don’t care. I sat down going through my playlist to find good music. Its like finding a very good woman but it can’t be compared to your first love

What happened? Did he forget that there are people who really loved him from day one? Did he lose his value and range to fame and money?

What would have happened if Sarkodie dropped that mixtape? Give yourselves some seconds to bask on this question. Herh!!!! Aswear anka menners go bow. Sarkodie going back to the old days oh. Freestyling his brains away. GH based rappers will be forced to back up. Everyone will want to muscle their way back into the limelight Sark took away. 

But it didn’t happen.

Until…..

WATCH OUT FOR PART 2!!

Sincerely yours,

Akwesi the writer.

PS. Sark is still the hero we grew to love. We just need him back.

#BringBackObidi

Leave a comment